Haunted by Immortality


Really?

Hmm… It’s hard to start writing about something which keeps knocking on the back doors of my illusive self for so many years.
Why Haunted? And by what?

Well, as all people must die in the end, all of us get to a point when the great Ender haunts our thoughts. We see or hear about dead people around. And we know it, but we repress the thought of our own ending. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a depressive post by any means. It’s just something I want to express, on how I see things. Back on track now. So, we see the entropy at work around us. In the past, in the present and in the future. And there is sorrow and despair in what passes to the shadows domain. But… it’s all in our mind, in what we perceive and what we formulate in our thoughts about what the world seems to be…..

That’s right, we are now close to the heart of the real problem. The mind… the ego… the self and his fears.
From my personal experience, all I can say is … stop the mill, stop the mind… and you will be free, or, if you want … immortal. We are not talking here about physical immortality, can’t have that in an entropic Universe, in the current state. We must think (or stop thinking…) about what is left when the mind is sent to sleep but we are still there, observing, sensing, feeling, rising on the biggest wave of silence.

When the mind is silenced we make a step in the other direction, towards ourself, towards the only seed of immortality we have. Call it inner self, spirit or God’s Seed, whatever. Usually we are oriented towards the world outside, or what we perceive to be outside. So, it’s that simple, stop the mind and immortality will be achieved.
Well 🙂 it’s not that simple. For the average human to stop the mind for a minute is like trying to stop the Earth spinning. Just try it… Do a simple exercise, take a wrist watch/clock with indicators (not electronic screen numbers) and try to watch the seconds pointer for 1 minute without thinking at it or anything else in that time. See how hard is that… Now imagine (just imagine, or do it if you can) how would it be to close your eyes and just be. No thoughts, no sounds, no inner waves, just like watching the full blue sky without clouds. Try to hold onto that, don’t let the great deceiver grab you, and you will be a step closer to … immortality (if we call it like this).

Now, why haunted? Since this is a post about “my” perspective, I will say. I am haunted by the wish, the will to stop the mind. I remember each day to stop a bit and feel what, where, why “I” am. Is this hard? It’s not about being hard, it’s about remembering to do it… And yes, … “I” can watch the clock for a whole minute without thoughts … But still, haunted. And aging. And so many times I get swept in the tricks of the mind and forget.

In the end all I can say is that hope never dies as long as we are aware and we remember to be…
For me the “fight” goes on. There are many ways to “fight” the mind, many tricks to overcome, many “spells” to cast. If I will have time I will write about what was tried by me and really worked.

Until next time, be happy and … stop the mill 🙂